A little personal place for me and everyone who stops by to hang out.
THANKS WINCUSTOMIZE!!!
Published on October 9, 2014 By BigDogBigFeet In Personal Computing

Well I've searched and searched and searched and joined Windows Insider Program and all to no avail there is no download and install available to me of Windows 10 technical preview.

Why do they make it soooo hard.

 

It's working and auto activated and will update.


Comments (Page 1)
on Oct 09, 2014

Don't know what happened, I did the whole thing in about 6 minutes the download is a ISO file. It's really fun the new things in there wish you better luck getting it.

on Oct 09, 2014

Thanks for your help DOC.

Okay just to be sure.. I downloaded the ISO and kept the product key.  I am using my main and only PC.  Win 7 is on my main HD C:.

I have a second internal HD which is partitioned.  Can I install this Tech Preview on my secondary drive E: and then change the Boot Startup to E: after the DVD is made and I run the Setup to E:?

Without damaging my Win 7 install?

I cannot afford to reinstall my Win 7.  so.. is what I am considering safe?

on Oct 09, 2014

BDBF....don't.

Download a [free] copy of Oracle VirtualBox ....and install 10 in that.  That way there is NO danger to your existing OS.

http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/4.3.16/VirtualBox-4.3.16-95972-Win.exe 

Direct dl link.

http://www.oracle.com/us/technologies/virtualization/virtualbox/overview/index.html 

Link to site.

on Oct 09, 2014

Thanks Jafo.  I installed the VirtualBox and got it working.  I configured a session.

I then loaded my disk imaged Win 10 DVD in my D: drive and it auto-started.  It began by preparing the install and was writing to my C: drive.  At no time did the Win 10 setup ask me where I wanted to install it.

Seeing all the writing to my C: drive caused me to chicken out.  I cancelled the setup.

So any advice in how to tell Win 10 setup to install to the virtual machine??

on Oct 09, 2014

BigDogBigFeet

Thanks for your help DOC.

Okay just to be sure.. I downloaded the ISO and kept the product key.  I am using my main and only PC.  Win 7 is on my main HD C:.

I have a second internal HD which is partitioned.  Can I install this Tech Preview on my secondary drive E: and then change the Boot Startup to E: after the DVD is made and I run the Setup to E:?

Without damaging my Win 7 install?

I cannot afford to reinstall my Win 7.  so.. is what I am considering safe?

You should be safe as long as you disconnect your Win 7 drive when you do the install.

Once you complete the install and have Win 10 up and running you can reconnect you Win 7 drive and use your CMOS boot menu to choose which drive to boot at startup.

Jafo has a good sugestion and that's how I'm running it right now.

 

on Oct 09, 2014

BigDogBigFeet

Seeing all the writing to my C: drive caused me to chicken out. I cancelled the setup.
So any advice in how to tell Win 10 setup to install to the virtual machine??

Check that your VM indicates it has the DVD drive connected [settings/system].

Insert the DVD...and cancel setup.

Open your newly set VM for 10 and click 'start'.

You'll be prompted for location of iso or cd/dvd...

Let it do its stuff...

on Oct 09, 2014

Multi-booting OS's can lead to trouble...it's certainly not unheard-of.

VMs are next to painless.  If it buggers up...you can simply delete it...

on Oct 09, 2014

Thanks Jafo.  My PC still works....  But no Win 10 It only runs on Intel Processors.  My AMD bsed machine is generating an error code when trying to install to the Virtual Box.

 

Sigh..

on Oct 09, 2014

Haven't seen any reference to not working for AMD processors....wouldn't have thought so, either.

If it helps I installed to VM directly from an iso....didn't burn it to dvd....

on Oct 10, 2014


Multi-booting OS's can lead to trouble...

Yup, sure can if yer name's Jafo... it's certainly not unheard of.  But if yer somebody else....

BigDogBigFeet

But no Win 10 It only runs on Intel Processors.

So Glad I got my main rig [Intel] out of storage, then ... my second rig is an AMD FX8350 based machine, though I think it strange that MS would exclude AMD based machines, either in virtual machine or not.  I successfully ran the preview of Win 8 on my AMD rig, so unless MS changed something, I would think Win 10 previews would also run on AMD machines.

on Oct 10, 2014

I have used VirtualBox with an AMD chip. No problems there.

Currently I have 10 installed in a VM using VMware with an AMD processor. I find it easier to use than the Oracle software. But as Jafo says, AMD processors will run it fine. 

on Oct 10, 2014

Yep I got it now.  I went into my BIOS and had to enable Virtual Machine Mode.  Then booting straight from the ISO file fixed the remaining issues.  Its running now.

on Oct 10, 2014

Yay!!!! You are now part of the 10 crowd. I wish you luck!

on Oct 10, 2014

Me too. Finally broke down and dl'd oracle and the tech preview. The ISO is gonna take a while, 1 hour left. Jeez...this thing is slow.

Meta
Views
» 26325
Comments
» 46
Sponsored Links